Richard Wagner Ride of The Valkyries
Jonathan Dove Airport Scenes (Orchestral Suite from Flight)
Antonin Dvorak Cello Concerto in B minor

Cello Sheku Kanneh-Mason

Conductor Jason Thornton

Bath Philharmonia takes flight into myth, fantasy and the realities of aviation. Wagner’s Ride of The Valkyries describes mythical warriors on their winged horses claiming their heroes from the battlefield. Jonathan Dove’s Airport Scenes perfectly describes a modern-day aircraft accelerating down a runway and gliding into the sky with the sun glistening on its wing tips.

Since winning BBC Young Musician of the Year in 2016 and his solo performance at the Royal Wedding of Harry and Meghan, Sheku Kanneh-Mason has become one of the most sought-after classical artists. His rise to fame has been meteoric and he returns to Bath to perform Dvorak’s glorious nature inspired Cello Concerto.